Deep Fried Snicker’s Bar

So do I have your attention? Thats right! I’m talking about deep-fried candy bars! Most chip shops in Ireland offer this treat, usually a Snickers, often also a Mars bar, but many will deep-fry any candy bar you bring into them. I’ve seen them a few places in the US as well, from pubs to county fairs. Again, Eamonn’s in Old Town Alexandria has them on the menu. Since I’ve had my deep-fryer working overtime lately, I decided to give it a whirl. There was some controversy online as to whether your candy bar should merely be refrigerated or frozen. I went with refrigerated, but can easily say in hindsight, go ahead and freeze that sucker! Also, very importantly, make sure every square inch of your candy bar is ensconsced in batter. If there is one little hole, one little opening, you will end up with a deep-fryer full of chocolately oil. Boooo! We tried a Reese cup….didn’t really work. We tried a 1,0000 Grand bar…..no dice. Luckily we did get our Snickers. What can I say. YUM! Crunchy coating with an ooooey, goooey, yummmy center! If your adventurous, give it a whirl!

For the batter:

1 cup buttermilk

1 tablespoon oil

1 cup flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

Freeze your candy bar! Thoroughly coat it in the deep-fry batter. Gently lower it into oil which is heat to 375° F. Fry for 1 minute or until a golden brown. Plate and drizzle with chocolate sauce and whipped cream. Often in Ireland we got a side of ice cream as well!

OMG! Are you kidding!!!

2 Responses to Deep Fried Snicker’s Bar

  1. atouchofrojo says:

    Hello,

    I am Jasmin from A Touch of RoJo and my husband and I would like to pass on the Stylish Blogger Award to you. Maybe it’s because you posted a recipe on fried snickers. I mean, doesn’t that deserve an award on its own? But really, we enjoy the recipes and the blog. Scotch eggs are my fave!!! I will be using this recipe for sure. But, we like your style and would like to award you for your hard work. Check out our website for more instructions. Happy cooking.

  2. […] leaandjay.wordpress.com via Jena on […]

Leave a comment