Irish Cheddar & Thyme Potato Soufflés


Wow! Look what I’ve got here for you today…Irish Cheddar & Thyme Potato Soufflés! Sounds quite posh huh? I must admit, that is certainly the vibe I got when I heard someone talk about a soufflé. I thought soufflés were a bit too fancy for me and I was, in all honesty, much too nervous to attempt to make one. I mean I had spent my whole childhood watching cartoons which often showed some poor soul slaving over a soufflé all day just to have it collapse after some surprising loud noise occurred. Nah…not for me. Those soufflé things just sounded too persnickety and with my quick temper, there was always the chance I would do some serious damage to the source of the aforementioned loud noise which would quite possibly land me in the jail house. And then there was the fact that I had only ever thought of sweet soufflés, I never even considered that there could be a savory soufflé.


Well I am very pleased to say that all those Saturday morning cartoons mislead me a bit on the soufflé front, as well as many others I’m sure. I can probably need not worry about coyotes toting huge Acme anvils or sticks of TNT either.🙂

Ha! Remember these guys?

Ha! Remember these guys?

These Irish Cheddar & Thyme Potato Soufflés were not difficult to make at all. And they taste ahhh-mazing! So light, so fluffy. And completely adorable in their little individual serving dishes. Kind of fancy, yet they also have a bit of a rustic vibe. The husband went mad for them and wondered where they had been all his life. So if you are looking for a unique potato dish for those St. Patrick’s Day celebrations, why not try these soufflés? Take it from me, no need to be scared….soufflés can be your new BFF!


Irish Cheddar & Thyme Potato Soufflés

  • Servings: 2 - 5 inch shuffles & 4 Le Creuset mini Cocottes
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

recipe slightly adapted from: One Sweet Mess


  • 1 1/4 lbs. potatoes, peeled and cubed.
  • 2 Tablespoons butter, plus more for brushing
  • 1 heaping cup grated Kerry Gold Reserve Cheddar cheese
  • 1/3 cup half and half
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons chopped thyme, leaves only
  • 3 large eggs, separated and at room temperature
  • scant 1/8 teaspoon cream of tartar
  • salt and pepper to taste


Preheat oven to 375° F. Generously brush the inside of 2 (5-inch) soufflé dishes, as well as 4 Le Creuset cocottes with butter.

Cut the potatoes into 1-inch chunks. Add the potatoes to a large pot and cover with cold water. Bring the potatoes to a boil over medium-high heat. Continue to cook until the potatoes are fork tender, about 10 minutes.

Drain the potatoes very well. Either place the potatoes in a food mill or run them though a potato ricer. The moral of the story is that you want these mashed potatoes to be very finely processed. You can even do this with a good old potato masher. But if you do, make sure you really mash them well!

Stir in the butter, grated cheese, half and half, and thyme. Season with salt and pepper to taste. Stir in the egg yolks.

Add the egg whites to a large bowl. Whisk until the whites become foamy. Add a pinch of cream of tartar to the bowl. Continue to whisk the egg whites until stiff peaks form.

Add a heaping scoop of egg whites to the potato mixture; gently fold to combine. Fold in the remaining egg whites until no streaks of white remain.

Fill each of the prepared soufflé dishes 3/4 of the way full with the potato mixture. Bake for 40-45 minutes, or until the soufflé is puffed and a rich golden brown color.


Irish Cheddar & Thyme Potato Souflees brought to you by: Runcible Eats (

Links to Useful Kitchen Tools & Ingredients Irish Cheddar & Thyme Souflees:

Le Creuset Set of 4 Mini Cocottes

Potato Ricer

Herb Stripper



3 Responses to Irish Cheddar & Thyme Potato Soufflés

  1. sabaribook says:

    It looks really soft and appetizing. I can already feel it in my mouth😀 Your encouraging does tempt me to try it. I never knew there were savory souffles too. I always thought they were only sweet. Thank you so much for letting me know this🙂

  2. […] zone with a couple of these and it has been a success. I told you how I’d approached that Irish Cheddar & Thyme Potato Soufflé with much trepidation. And lo and behold all was fine. Well, I was the same way about Macarons. […]

  3. luciliadias_ says:

    oh my woooord!!! I’m definitely gonna try this!!!

Leave a Reply

