Upside Down Caramel Apple Cake with Whiskey Whipped Cream


Upside Down Caramel Apple Cake with Whiskey Whipped Cream?!! Now that’s what I’m talking about! I LOVE apples, absolutely one of my favourite fruits who doesn’t love Caramel much less whiskey? This is a perfect St. Patrick’s Day dessert. After all there is a legend that St. Patrick himself planted an apple tree just outside of Armagh city.


Apparently I am not the only one who was wild about this dessert. I have actually been calling it “Gimlet’s Fall from Grace” around the house. Our pup, Gimlet, is usually very well behaved. He “never” eats food off of the table or even coffee table. It wasn’t too long after I bragged just that about him that I was taking pictures of this cake. Luckily I had pretty much finished with the photo shoot when I was suddenly summoned to come outside. When I returned I was met at the door by a very guilty looking puppy. When I raised my gaze over to the coffee table where I take most of my photos, what did I see but my beautiful Upside Down Caramel Apple Cake with a big old chomp taken right out of it! What the what! This dog never messes up!  We have left cheese and crackers and sausage on that table over night and he didn’t even give it a second look. Well…I guess that isn’t entirely true. He did succumb to temptation once before. Yup….that time it was a Banana Rum Muffin that did him in. Well, I assure you I tried to be all stern and outraged, telling him what a BAD dog he was, but I have to admit, it was pretty amusing.

How could you be mad at this adorable little face?

How could you be mad at this adorable little face?

And I think a great testimony to how irresistible this Upside Down Caramel Apple Cake truly is.


I must admit, when I turned that cake over onto the serving platter and saw that rush of molten, gooey caramel pouring down over the cake, I found it a bit difficult to contain myself as well. My first urge was to just take a big old bite right out of the side of it. So I guess I’ll have to give poor Gimlet a break…afterall, he’s only human…


Upside Down Caramel Apple Cake with Whiskey Whipped Cream

  • Servings: 10 -12 slices
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

recipe inspired by: epicurean


For the Caramel:

  • 1/2 cup firmly packed brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 8 oz. heavy whipping cream, divided

For the Cake:

  • 2 apples – one sliced into thin wedges, one chopped into 1/2″ – 1″ cubes.
  • 1 1/3 cup flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup plus 1 Tablespoon superfine sugar (caster sugar)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 – 2 Tablespoons milk

Whiskey Whipped Cream:

  • Remaining whipped cream
  • 2 Tablespoons confectioner’s sugar
  • 2 Tablespoons Irish Whiskey
  • Caramel Sauce for Drizzle (can use store bought or if you are feeling industrious, whip up a batch of my Perfect Salted Caramel Sauce.)


Preheat oven to 350° F. Grease a 9 inch round cake pan and set aside.

In small sauce pan over low heat, combine brown sugar, butter and 2 Tablespoons of the whipping cream. Cook and stir until the butter and sugar are melted. Pour caramel into the bottom of the prepared 9″ cake pan. Arrange apple slices in concentric circles on top of caramel. Set aside.

Combine flour, baking powder, cinnamon and salt in bowl. Whisk together. Set aside.

In the bowl of a stand mixer combine butter and superfine sugar. Beat until light and fluffy. Add the eggs 1 at a time, mixing until egg is fully incorporated before adding the next.

Fold in 1/2 the flour mixture, mixing only until just combined. Then add the other 1/2 of the flour mixture and milk. Gently fold in the cubed apple.

Carefully spoon the batter over the caramel/apple mixture in the 9″ cake pan. Bake for 40 -50 minutes, or until toothpick inserted into center comes out clean.

Cool for 2 -3 minutes on a wire rack and then carefully invert the cake onto a serving plate.

Just prior to serving, beat the remaining whipping cream until soft peaks form. Add the powdered sugar and whiskey. Beat until stiff peak form. Dollop over cake slices as they are served.


Upside Down Caramel Apple Cake with Whiskey Whipped Cream brought to you by: Runcible Eats (

4 Responses to Upside Down Caramel Apple Cake with Whiskey Whipped Cream

  1. stassoni says:

    This looks very delicious cant wait to try it. Nice touch with the whiskey whipped cream.

  2. sugarysunshines says:

    Sooo gonna try this soon!

  3. Danielle says:

    I made this last St.Patrick’s Day, everybody loved it! My sister, so much she has had me make it for Mother’s Day and her Birthday! I am not much of a baker, and I have yet to find a way to mess it up. Super easy, insanely delicious!

Leave a Reply

