Apple Cider Glazed Donut Bread Pudding with Maple Butter Rum Sauce



Yes. You did read that recipe title correctly. It does indeed say Apple Cider Glazed Donut Bread Pudding. And yeah, I doesn’t stop there, it then adds the phrase  “with Maple Butter Rum Sauce”. I can hardly believe it myself and I actually made the dish, which I can tell you is exactly as amazing as you might imagine. Perhaps even more so. I found myself just staring at the husband in some sort of a donut bread pudding induced stupor and saying “this is really good”…”no..I mean this is really good!” over and over. This might actually be the best bread pudding I’ve ever had.


So I know I just told you about how I went a bit mad with the deep-fryer earlier in the week and fried up a big batch of Apple Cider Glazed Donuts. Well the husband and I polished off quite a few of them as soon as they hit the cooling and rack and I immediately sent a fresh batch over to the neighbors. Yet, we still had quite a few of those little devils lurking about the kitchen. It was then that I remembered seeing a recipe at Sift & Whisk for a Cinnamon Sugar Donut Bread Pudding and knew just what I was going to do. And boy oh boy was I glad I did!


Any type of donut you have on hand will work here, the cake type or the yeast risen type. And I suppose you don’t need to go all crazy like I did and make all the donuts yourself. (Though you really should…) You could go to one of those lovely Farmer’s Markets, or even your local bakery, and simply buy a dozen. But believe you me, you do want to make this pudding!


Warm, comforting, apple-y, maple-y Fall bliss! I absolutely loved the tiny bits of apple added into the mix. And that Maple Butter Rum Sauce? It is divine! How could it not be? It’s got Maple Syrup, butter and Rum in it! I could probably just lap that up all on its own. The husband, who adores Bread Pudding, was completely over the moon with this dish. He didn’t hesitate to declare it the best he’d ever eaten. And I wager you’ll say the same. I mean come on…lets just say it again. Apple Cider Glazed Donut…Bread Pudding…with Maple Butter Rum Sauce. And there you have it!


Apple Cider Glazed Donut Bread Pudding with Maple Butter Rum Sauce

  • Servings: 6
  • Difficulty: easy once you have the stale donuts on hand
  • Print

recipe adapted from: Sift and Whisk


For the Bread Pudding:

  • 5 tablespoons (70 grams) unsalted butter, divided
  • 1 large Honeycrisp apple, peeled, cored, and cut into ½-inch cubes (or whatever type apple you prefer)
  • 1 cup plus 2 tablespoons (225 grams) granulated sugar, divided
  • ¼ teaspoon cinnamon
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla paste (or sub in vanilla extract if you don’t have the paste)
  • 1 Tablespoon boiled cider (optional – but it will really kick up that apple flavour!)
  • 8 stale Apple Cider glazed donuts, cut into cubes (or whatever stale donuts you have on hand)

For the Maple Butter Rum Sauce:

  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 3 Tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 -2 Tablespoons dark rum
  • Demerara sugar for sprinkling over the top


Preheat oven to 350°F.

In a sauté pan, melt 4 tablespoons (55 grams) of butter over medium-high heat. Add apple cubes and 2 tablespoons (25 grams) sugar and cook until apples are soft and translucent, 10-12 minutes. Remove from heat and stir in cinnamon.

In a large mixing bowl, whisk together remaining 1 cup (200 grams) sugar, eggs, egg yolk, cream, vanilla paste and boiled cider until smooth. Add donut cubes and cooked apples and gently toss to coat. Let soak for 5 – 10 minutes, occasionally turning the mixture gently so that all of those donut cubes get a good soaking.

Melt the remaining 1 tablespoon of butter. Brush a 9×9-inch (or similar sized – I used a gratin dish) baking pan with ½ tablespoon of butter. Pour bread pudding into the pan and distribute evenly. Drizzle remaining ½ tablespoon of butter over the top of the pudding. Sprinkle a bit of Demerara sugar over the top.

Place Bread Pudding Pan in a large roasting pan. Fill the roasting pan with water until it comes half way up the sides of the Pudding pan. ( I suppose this is optional. The original recipe which I adapted did not use a water bath. However, when baking bread puddings I always do. Likely because my Mom did. But I have read that a water bath ensures the custard will not curdle and that the top of the pudding will remain moist and tender. All of which sound good to me…so I persist.)

Bake for 45 – 50 minutes, until custard is set up. Cool slightly on a wire rack. Serve with Maple Butter Rum Sauce.

For the Maple Butter Rum Sauce:

In a small saucepan, combine maple syrup and butter and heat over medium-high heat until butter is melted. Add the brown sugar and stir to dissolve. Cook for 30 seconds, then remove from heat and stir in rum. Drizzle over warm bread pudding.


Apple Cider Glazed Donut Bread Pudding with Maple Butter Rum Sauce brought to you by: Runcible Eats (



8 Responses to Apple Cider Glazed Donut Bread Pudding with Maple Butter Rum Sauce

  1. Reblogged this on Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life and commented:
    It is a foul day outside with arctic winds and lashing rain… so I was delighted to see this post pop up with a very heart warming recipe…Apple Cider Glazed Donut Bread Pudding with Maple Butter Rum Sauce….resist you not.

  2. Oh my goodness! This looks so good!!

  3. shandryss says:

    Reblogged this on Sparkling Shoes Girl and commented:
    This is a nice Food Photography!

  4. […] it up a couple weeks ago and we’ve enjoyed it with our Apple Cider Donut Cake as well as our Apple Cider Glazed Donut Bread Pudding. Yum! And although a naked scoop of it is fantastic, I was feeling a bit naughty one night and […]

  5. Ms. G says:

    Donut bread pudding – sounds fabulous!

Leave a Reply

