Fluffernutter Parfaits topped with Candied Bacon and Mini Chocolate Chips


Lord Have Mercy! Would you look at these irresistible little jars of veritable bliss! Silky Peanut Butter Mousse covered in fluffy marshmallow frosting and then topped with chopped candied bacon and all bundled up in an adorable and very portable little mason jar. Are. You. Kidding. Me. And…guess what guys? These little temptations are completely gluten and dairy free! What the what?!!


So I just told you all about that unbelievable delectable Flourless Double Chocolate Cake that I made for the get-together my friend, who is gluten-free, was hosting. Turns out that cake was not only easy to make but was really delicious. It almost made me think for a second I could give up glutens (who am I kidding…truth be told I only thought about it for a quick moment what with my bread obsession.) Anyhoo…I was riding high on my gluten-free chocolate cake victory, but I might have done my celebratory dance (yes…I do have one) a bit too soon. Turns out my friend’s family is also dairy-free. That cake almost fit the double whammy gluten/dairy free bill. I had replaced the butter in it with coconut oil, so the cake was good to go. However, that chocolate ganache glaze had some cream in it. Wha-wha-wha…dairy-free failure! Not being one to turn away from a challenge, I set out to make a second dessert for the gathering that would be both gluten and dairy-free. Happily I found the recipe for these Fluffernutter Parfaits and they were just perfect, not only gluten and dairy-free but also wonderfully addictive. And did I mention they are topped with candied bacon?!! You just can’t go wrong with bacon.


Now, I’ve got to let you in on a secret…I put some of the Fluffernutter Parfait on top of my Flourless Chocolate Cake and it was just nothing short of salty sweet perfection. Yup…I doubt I will ever make one of these desserts, without whipping up the other to go along with it. Deep, dark, rich chocolate and creamy, salty peanut butter. Get in my belly! Let the celebratory dancing begin in earnest!!!


Fluffernutter Parfaits topped with Candied Bacon and Mini Chocolate Chips

  • Servings: four 1/2 pint jars
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

recipe from: The Bacon Princess


For the Peanut Butter Mousse:

  • 1/2 can coconut cream, chilled
  • 4-5 tablespoons peanut butter
  • 3-4 tablespoons maple syrup
  • 2-3 tablespoons coconut oil, solid

For the Candied Bacon:

  • 3 slices bacon
  • 2-3 tablespoons brown sugar

For the Marshmallow topping:

  • 2 egg whites
  • 3 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 2 dashes cream of tartar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

Mini Chocolate Chips for topping


In the bowl of your standing mixer, whip chilled coconut cream for about one minute.
Add peanut butter, maple syrup, and one tablespoon of coconut oil at a time, continuing to mix for about one more minute.
Once all ingredients are fully incorporated, portion out into individual pint jars for serving, remembering to leave room for the marshmallow topping. Place in the fridge to set.
Dice bacon and add to a medium-sized frying pan over low heat.
Cook on low for about 5 minutes.
When the bacon is almost done cooking, drain as much grease as you can and add the brown sugar.
Cook for 1-2 more minutes, or until sugar has been melted and bubbles up a bit.
Remove bacon to a plate lined with parchment paper, so the caramelized bacon doesn’t stick.
Let cool until you’re ready to garnish.
Fill a small saucepan with an inch or two of water, and bring to a boil.
In the bowl of your standing mixer or another bowl that fits inside the saucepan, add the egg whites, brown sugar, and cream of tartar.
Place the bowl over the saucepan of boiling water, making sure the bowl and water are not in direct contact.
Stir vigorously until all the sugar has been absorbed into the egg white. Make sure you start stirring immediately or you will end up with scrambled eggs!
Remove from stove and immediately bring to standing mixer.
Whip on high for about 3-4 minutes, or until mixture stands in stiff peaks.
Add marshmallow on top of mousse, using a piping bag if necessary.
Garnish with chopped candied bacon and mini chocolate chips.


Fluffernutter Parfaits topped with Candied Bacon and Mini Chocolate Chips is brought to you by: Runcible Eats (http://www.leaandjay.com )


7 Responses to Fluffernutter Parfaits topped with Candied Bacon and Mini Chocolate Chips

  1. That looks fantastic!🙂

  2. I’m honored! Thanks for the shoutout!

  3. teacupcake says:

    Oh my goodness this looks absolutely DELICIOUS!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. jenn a. says:

    seriously these both were just insane! And like you said – they’re almost made for each other.

  5. Love this blog! If anyone wants to learn how to make some healthy recipes please check out my youtube channel! https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC1-YCxeIdRk7xZsCOyJaqyw

  6. I think that candied bacon should be a prerequisite for every dessert. I mean, that seems like a good idea😉

Leave a Reply

