Cheesy Zucchini Bacon Casserole


I seem to be getting a bit behind with my blogging again. Though I must say this past week has been a doozy! You know that old saying, “when it rains, it pours”? Well I’m getting ready to break out one of those little Zodiac inflatable boats you always see those Greenpeace folks buzzing about in. Yikes! But looking to the positive side of things for a minute, I am happy to say that it has been a bit cooler around here. I’m actually wearing light gloves and a hat on the morning and evening dog walks, which raises both my and the pup’s spirits. Fall is here and I believe next week the clocks “fall back” which I absolutely love. Nearly as much as I despise it when the clocks leap forward. I do wish we would just pick a time and go with it. But I digress…on to the recipe at hand! Today’s dish is another zucchini recipe which comes from my Mom. This one is just perfect for that transition time between summer and fall. You know what I’m talking about…there are still some zucchini hanging around from the warmer weather, but it’s just started to get a bit chilly where a warm, cheesy casserole would be very welcome. And really folks, how could you go wrong with this one…you’ve got the good-for-you-veggies in the zucchini, but yes you might have noticed there is also a bit of cheese and bacon thrown in for good measure. Hopefully these ingredients don’t cancel out the benefit of the zucchini. :p


I don’t know what to say, cheese and bacon are nothing short of magic in my opinion. The recipe comes together very quickly and is quite tasty. Great as a side dish or I suppose it wouldn’t be too dreadful if you left the bacon out (OMG…am I really saying this?!!) and served it on a Meatless Monday. I’ll leave that up to you, but mark my’re going to love this one!


Cheesy Zucchini Bacon Casserole

recipe from: My Mom


  • 5 cups zucchini (about 5 -6 small to medium zucchini)
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 2 egg yolks
  • 2 tablespoons flour
  • 2 egg whites-stiffly beaten
  • 2 cups shredded cheddar cheese
  • 10 -12 slices of cooked Bacon, crumbled (approx. 10-12 tablespoons of real bacon bits)
  • 1 cup Panko, tossed with 2 tablespoons melted butter.

Preheat oven to 350° F and butter a 13×9″ baking dish.

Cook zucchini in small amount of boiling, salted water -about 5 min.

Mix together sour cream, egg yolks and flour and then fold in the egg whites.

Layer ingredients in the prepared 13×9″ casserole dish, starting with the zucchini, followed by the sour cream egg mixture, the bacon and then the cheese.

Top with butter tossed Panko.

Bake for 20 minutes or until cheese is melted and it is bubbling.


3 Responses to Cheesy Zucchini Bacon Casserole

  1. I love everything about this. But especially the bacon🙂

    Great recipe!

  2. Reblogueó esto en Laderas de Gredosy comentado:

  3. […] tasty options include zucchini bread, stuffed zucchini, zucchini fritters, Zucchini Parmesan and Cheesy Bacon Zucchini Casserole (the last two being particular favourites of mine). But I’ve got to tell you, I’ve got […]

Leave a Reply

