Blueberry Banana Oat Bread

Yay! It is officially Autumn, my favourite time of the year. But last week, while it was still technically Summer, I bought some gorgeous Driscoll’s Blueberries. These berries were huge! Quite possibly approaching plum size, I kid you not! (well, perhaps I am exaggerating just a bit…). Anyway, I snatched them up right away and brought them home to make some as yet to be determined treat! I took the berries out of their little plastic carton, literally holding my breath, hoping that the outer berries hadn’t artfully arranged themselves as to obscur all of the moldy, yucky berries in the center of the package. Thankfully all of the berries in the carton were pristine, but I’m sure you’ve all experienced the disappointment of getting what you think is a great bunch of berries home to find that they are really a petri dish of various scary molds. I’ve always had great luck with Driscoll’s Berries, I usually buy their organic ones. They are always fresh and sweet. So that has become my brand of choice. And the folks at Driscoll’s have a great website which not only describes their business, but also provides some great berry recipes. It was there that I found this recipe for Blueberry Banana Oat Bread.

I’m always trying out different banana bread recipes and this was definitely a winner. The banana bread was very moist and had a great texture from the addition of the rolled oats. And those monster blueberries didn’t just look good, they were sweet and bursting with flavour!

A slice of this bread was great for breakfast as well as a welcome snack later in the day. And with all of those oats and berries, I’m sure it’s health benefits negate the calories! At least that’s what I’m telling myself…

Blueberry Banana Oat Bread

recipe from: Driscolls

yield: 1 loaf bread


  • 1 cup low-fat buttermilk
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 cup mashed ripe banana, about 2 medium
  • 2/3 cups packed dark brown sugar
  • 1/3 cups canola oil
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoons salt
  • 1/4 teaspoons baking soda
  • 2 cups Driscoll’s Blueberries


Preheat oven to 375°F. Coat a 9 x 5-inch loaf pan with cooking spray and dust lightly with flour.

Whisk buttermilk, eggs, banana, sugar and oil in a large bowl until well blended. Combine flour, oats, baking powder, cinnamon, salt and baking soda in a separate bowl. Stir flour mixture into buttermilk mixture, mixing just until combined.Gently fold in blueberries. Pour batter into prepared loaf pan.

Bake about 1 hour, or until browned and a pick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool in pan 15 minutes. Remove from pan and cool completely on a wire rack before slicing.


7 Responses to Blueberry Banana Oat Bread

  1. This blueberry oat banana bread sounds like such a wonderful breakfast for a cold autumn morning and it looks stunning. Thanks for sharing

  2. This looks delicious. I’m definitely going to try this, maybe this week, because i have some ripening bananas right now.

  3. Sounds so delicious! I’ve been skipping breakfast recently because of time (tsk tsk) and a loaf of this would be the perfect solution! Yum!

  4. Skuggs says:

    This looks great. I have loads of bananas needing to be used up. Oats and blueberries sound like a brilliant addition to my normal banana loaf. I’ll have to do something sneaky recipewise though, because I’m dairy free at the moment. Hope it comes out half as well as yours. Yours looks AMAZING!
    And of course the health benefits negate the calories, even if you slather each slice in thick layers of butter……yum!

  5. Oats are such a great thing to include here, they always go well with berries and add their own delicious texture and flavour. Wonderful🙂

Leave a Reply

