Corn Pudding

This year I cooked Thanksgiving dinner completely on my own. Ordinarily, we go to my Mum’s house and she makes an awesome dinner with every possible dish imaginable. I usually only contribute a side dish and a dessert. This year due to extenuating circumstances, we were not able to attend her feast and I was faced with having to cook one for us all by myself! (Yikes!) Although it was somewhat daunting, I think I did fairly well once all was said and done (or eaten as the case may be). One of the dishes my Mum always prepares for Thanksgiving is corn pudding. Now that I think of it, Corn Pudding is usually available on every holiday. I think it is a classic Southern dish. Certainly very popular on both Tilghman Island ( a little island in the Chesapeake Bay where I grew up) as well as Smith Island ( a more isolated island in the middle of the Chesapeake Bay, where my Da grew up). Both Jay and I really like it, so I wanted to give it a whirl. Although I didn’t achieve the level of yumminess that Mum’s pudding does, it was still pretty tasty. Mum doesn’t actually add vanilla to hers, but we are both huge vanilla fans so into the mix it went. I also only used two tablespoons of sugar, whereas Mum says you can add up to four. As with most recipes handed down in families, the amounts of any given ingredient were not given to me in cold, hard fact form, but in “add it to taste” and “oh, about a tablespoon or so”. You know how it goes. Mum usually bakes it in a square baking dish (8″x8″), but an oval gratin pan works as well as little ramekins. Though with ramekins the cooking time will be reduced. Just watch them and remove them from the oven once the top is set. Hope you enjoy it as much as we did!

Corn Pudding

recipe from: My Mum!


  • 1 – 15 oz. can creamed corn
  • 2-4 Tablespoons Sugar (to your taste)
  • 2 Tablespoons Bisquick
  • 2 eggs-lightly beaten
  • 1 Tablespoon Vanilla extract
  • 1- 12 oz. can Evaporated Milk
  • 1/2 stick ( 4 Tablespoons) of butter-melted


Preheat oven to 350°F

In medium-sized bowl combine creamed corn, eggs, sugar, and vanilla extract.

Place Bisquick in small bowl and add a small amount of pet milk, stirring until it is smooth and no lumps remain.

Add Bisquick mixture to corn mixture.

Add the rest of the can of Evaporated milk to corn mixture and stir until combined.

Place 1/2 stick of butter in dish you wish to bake the pudding in. Microwave the butter until melted. Swirl the butter mixture around the inside of the dish until sides are coated.

Pour corn mixture into buttered baking dish.

Place corn pudding dish on baking sheet to protect your oven should it boil over.

Bake for 75 minutes or until top of pudding is set.


Leave a Reply

