Scallion Cheddar Scones

The other day, I had a craving for a savory scone and these little fellows really hit the spot! They are wonderfully moist and tender. The cheddar, scallion and Dijon mustard are just brilliant together. These scones are great for breakfast but equally as good for lunch when served with a bowl of soup, chili or stew.

You can make these in the traditional triangular scone shape, but I wanted these to be in a mini sized portion. A 2″ biscuit cutter worked quite easily here. Come to think of it, they would be great for appetizers, given their perfect little bite-size as well. Just imagine them topped with a little slice of ham. I must admit, I did make them to go along with a particular spread, which I will be blogging about next time. Like a hint? It involves bacon and is unbelievably tasty! Perhaps even life changing…But until then, make up a batch of these little gems, which are fantastic all on their own, especially when slathered with butter! YUM!

Scallion Cheddar Scones

recipe from: The King Arthur Flour Baker’s Companion

yield: 20 mini scones

Ingredients:

  • 2 Cups (8 1/2 ounces) unbleached all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 Tablespoon baking powder
  • 1 Tablespoon sugar
  • 6 Tablespoons (3/4 stick, 3 ounces) cold butter, cut into pieces
  • 2 large eggs, beaten
  • 1/3 Cup (2 3/4 ounces) cream or sour cream
  • 1 Tablespoon Dijon mustard
  • 1 Cup (4 ounces) grated sharp cheddar cheese
  • 3-5 scallions (1 Cup, 2 ounces) chopped

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375° F

Sift together the flour, salt, sugar, and baking powder. Rub in the butter with your fingers.

Mix together the eggs, cream, and mustard. Add this to the dry ingredients. Stir in the grated cheese and the scallions. Mix just until combined. This is the consistency of drop-cookie dough.

Liberally flour the counter and your hands. Pat the dough to 1″ thickness. Cut dough with 2″ biscuit cutter. (You can also shape these into traditional scone triangular shapes. If you wish to do this pat the dough into a 6×9″ rectangle, about 1″ thick. Cut the rectangle into 6 smaller rectangles, and cut each smaller rectangle into two triangles, forming 12 triangular scones.)Place on well-greased or parchment covered cookie sheet.

Bake for 12 minutes, or until nicely browned and a toothpick inserted into a scone comes out dry.

Enjoy!

19 Responses to Scallion Cheddar Scones

  1. Karen says:

    Your little scones would be perfect for an Easter brunch that I will be attending.

  2. TacoMagic says:

    Well… I know what I’m making to go with dinner tonight.

    • TacoMagic says:

      In lieu of true scallions, I’m thinking I’ll try using some of the fresh chives I have growing everywhere here. Hopefully the short baking time will leave the chives with a good portion of their flavor intact.

  3. windykitchen says:

    Oh man, those look delicious…and your photos are gorgeous!

  4. i love scones. these look so fluffy and delicious.

  5. Find Focus says:

    I’ve been on a scone baking kick since early January, so I think I’m definitely doing to add this to the ‘new scones to try’ list! :)

  6. mangiodasola says:

    Ah, there they are, and they are scones. They look so good. I already bookmarked the recipe. Forgive me if I overlooked, but you should add a link back to the scones in the actual text of the bacon jam post. :)

  7. [...] lets see, besides eating it right out of the jar…we’ve put it on our tender and tasty Cheddar Scallion Scones that I just posted about, we topped some deviled eggs with a dollop of that bacon-y goodness, we [...]

  8. Deb says:

    what sugar??
    the recipe has no sugar amount listed, but the instructions add it to the dry ingredients to be sifted??

    • liadh1 says:

      Deb, I’m so sorry! Thank you for pointing out this mistake. It is 1 Tablespoon of sugar. I have corrected the post. I hope it has not caused you any trouble!
      best- Lea

  9. jcwinstead says:

    I cannot wait to try this recipe! They do look delicious and savory! They sort of look like the biscuits at Red Lobster, the cheddar ones. I am sure the scallions give them a slightly different taste! Thanks for sharing your recipe!

  10. [...] Lea and Jay “Scallion Cheddar Scones“- April 13, [...]

  11. These look so good! I am opening a bed and breakfast in Virginia so I am always looking for some good recipes! Thanks!

  12. jenner says:

    Gave these a try today… yum! I did make a few modifications … http://pinterest.com/pin/102879172708697041/ . It was also a perfect excuse to try out my lobster-shaped cutter. ;-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,686 other followers

