Lasagna Cupcakes

Finally! A way to make Lasagna a portable, finger food. Lasagna Cupcakes! No utensils needed, you can just pick them right up and proceed to chow down! Of course, if you feel compelled to bring out your cutlery, don’t let me stop you. Serve them in whatever way makes you happy.

I was inspired to make these after seeing a post at thegirlwhoateeverything. I did make a few changes to her recipe however. Her cupcakes call for ground beef and I decided to go with Italian Sausage. She also used wonton wrappers in lieu of lasagna noodles. I must admit, I am intrigued by the use of the wonton wrappers, and may give that a try next time I make these. ( and oh yes, I will be making them again) The wonton wrappers might prove a bit easier to work with. I bought fresh, refrigerated, fresh lasagna noodles and held them over steam from a boiling pot of water to soften them up a bit and then used a cookie cutter to cut out circle shapes to line each muffin well.

If you don’t like having to fiddle around with things, this recipe might not be for you. Or perhaps the wonton wrapper method might suit you better. (you will need 24 wrappers for this recipe) But if you have the patience to play around with the fresh pasta, you won’t be disappointed with the results. I assembled these little gems early in the day and refrigerated them until I was ready to prepare dinner later that evening. Then I just popped them into the oven and 20 minutes later, they were bubbling hot perfection, crispy pasta noodles on the outside, filled with layers of spicy italian sausage sauce and three types of gooey cheeses. Yum, yum, yum!!!

Lasagna Cupcakes

recipe: inspired by the girlwhoateeverything

Yield: 12 cupcakes

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup marinara sauce (I actually used Arrabiata – I’ve mentioned previously that we like spicy! )
  • 1 lb. Italian Sausage ( of course, we used “hot” but “mild” would be fine )
  • 2 packages of fresh lasagna noodles
  • 8 ounces shredded mozzarella
  • 3 ounces Parmesan Cheese
  • 4 ounces Ricotta Cheese
  • Basil to garnish

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375° F. Spray Muffin tin with cooking spray. Put sauce pan of water on to boil.

Brown the sausage and season with salt and pepper to taste. Drain. Add the marinara sauce and stir to combine.

Remove one sheet of lasagna noodles and hold over steam from boiling water to soften slightly. Using a 4″ cookie cutter, cut circle shaped pieces and fit them gently into the muffin tins, covering the bottom and sides of the muffin wells. Reserve the noodle scraps for later layers.

Start layering the lasagna cupcakes. Start with the sauce/sausage mixture. Place approximately 1 Tablespoon in each well. Place 1/2 tablespoon ricotta cheese on top of the meat mixture. Continue layering with a sprinkle of parmesan and mozzarella cheese.

Using a 2″ cookie cutter and some of the reserved lasagna noodle scraps, cut circles of noodle to layer in next. Repeat the layers, ending with the parmesan and mozzarella cheese.

Bake for 20 minutes or until edges are browned. Remove from oven and let cool for 5 minutes. To remove use a knife to loosen the edges and then gently slide each cupcake from the tin.

Garnish with basil and serve.

Enjoy!

27 Responses to Lasagna Cupcakes

  1. Sarah says:

    These look amazing. I can almost smell them! Your pictures are stunning. Thank you for posting this. I like the Italian Sausage idea. Yum!

  2. BRILLIANT idea. These look delish! Now lasagna can be invited to picnics and cocktail parties! Definitely going on my recipe list.

  3. fariemia says:

    Reblogged this on Life Lessons and commented:
    Yummy yum yum

  4. niasunset says:

    This is so lovely at first and very clever idea.. I loved it so much, I want to try. Seems so delicious… Thank you dear Lea, have a nice weekend, with my love, nia

  5. pearlessence says:

    Yum! Please try the wonton one too and let us know how it compares!

  6. sprevorb31 says:

    Those look awesome! Can you use cooked noodles instead of fresh?

  7. kalamckala says:

    These are adorable! I love the idea of savory cupcakes – the perfect way to have lasagna on the run!

  8. mommywritervkent says:

    Oh my gosh, I soooo want to to try this! We love lasagna so this would be great for as you said, taking out, but also portion control too :D

  9. mommywritervkent says:

    Reblogged this on Unique and Unpredictable and commented:
    Now this seems like a great idea I want to give a try!

  10. These are to cute… Your photography is amazing!

    Jeanna

  11. snixykitchen says:

    These are great! I’ve done something similar with leftover sauce and cheese – I just threw in whatever pasta I had on hand…mmm mmm mmm.

  12. Rachael says:

    Perfect picnic food! You’ve got me looking forward to warmer weather to try these out. :)

  13. SammyDee says:

    These are a brilliant idea for parties (and for picnic’s, as Rachael pointed out). Thanks for sharing. I’ll play around with the idea too.

  14. naturess says:

    what a really good, useful idea! Thanks for sharing with us!

  15. That is a lovely tea bowl in that photo! Where did you get it?

    • liadh1 says:

      Hi Lydia- I got the tea bowl at Eastern Market in Washington DC. I’m afraid I can’t remember the name of the potter though. Unfortunately it is not signed on the bottom. :(

  16. Laura says:

    would you be able to freeze these after cooking them to have for another time?

    • liadh1 says:

      I would assume so, but I’ve never actually done it. However, I think if you wrap them up well, they should hold up fine in the freezer. Let me know how it goes.

  17. Laura says:

    ok…I think so too! I will try these soon…

  18. [...] sound good, they really delivered on taste as well. Back in February, I had tried out a recipe for Lasagna Cupcakes  which I had seen on the Girl Who Ate Everything blog. They were a huge hit. A couple of months [...]

  19. rose says:

    We, (me and grandkids). LOVED….these. we have miniature food nights, and these were awesome !!! Lov your site!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,632 other followers

