Harvest Apple Bread Pudding with a Salted Maple-Caramel Sauce

Now that Halloween is over and I’ve got all those spooky treats out of my system, I can get back to my Fall  fresh apple obsession. This recipe is part two of my covert mission to hide some morsels of the Harvest Apple Challah bread that I made a short time ago, for the purpose of making other tasty treats with it. First I managed to make some lovely Harvest Apple French Toast with a bit from my hidden stash. Then I made these two charming little ramekins of Harvest Apple Bread Pudding. And I couldn’t just stop there… Oh No! I went ahead a whipped up some mouth-watering Salted Maple-Caramel Sauce to drizzle over the top. The recipe below actually makes about 1 cup of the stunning salty-sweet concoction, which is quite a bit more than you’ll need here, but you’ll be very happy to have it around. This sauce is really quite good and goes well over ice cream, baked apples, pancakes, you name it. It’s even good squirted right out of the bottle ( not that I would be doing that… in public anyway :) ). I did drizzle some right over the tops of my Harvest Apple Bread Pudding though. The result was absolutely scrumptious.

This recipe, like my previous Harvest Apple French Toast, calls for “Maple Sugar”. Maple Sugar is made from the sap of the sugar maple tree and is significantly sweeter than granulated sugar. It can be found in the sugar section of most large grocery stores, or if not in your town, it can be order online. (I’ve seen it on Amazon.) I mentioned that you could swap it out for granulated sugar if you wanted, but you might want to increase the sugar amount a bit and probably won’t get as mapley a taste. However, the sauce does call for imitation maple extract, so that might just be enough for you.

Once my husband got his hands on this dessert, all secrecy and hoarding behaviour on my part was forgiven. (He actually didn’t even suspect a thing…I’m that good!) We devoured these puddings in no time flat! So if you haven’t made the Harvest Apple Challah yet, get baking! You don’t miss out on this delicious Harvest Apple Bread Pudding!

Harvest Apple Bread Pudding with a Salted Maple-Caramel Sauce

yields: Two 8 oz. Ramekins

Ingredients:

For Bread Puddings:

  • 2 cups 1/2-inch cubed Harvest Apple Challah bread
  • 2/3 cup 2% reduced-fat milk or heavy cream if you’re feeling particularly decadent
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons Maple sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 large egg, lightly beaten

For Salted Maple-Caramel Sauce:

Yields: 1 cup

  • 1/4 cup unsalted butter
  • 1/2 cup maple sugar
  • 3/4 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 1/8 teaspoon coarse kosher salt
  • 5-6 drops of imitation maple extract

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350°F. Arrange bread cubes in a single layer on a baking sheet. Bake for 5 minutes, or until toasted.

Combine milk, maple sugar, vanilla, nutmeg, cinnamon and egg in a medium bowl. Whisk until thoroughly combined. Add toasted bread cubes and toss until coated. Gently push bread down into liquid. Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate for 30 minutes.

Preheat oven to 325°F. Butter the inside of two 7-8 oz. ramekins. Divide the chilled bread/egg mixture evenly between the two ramekins.

Place ramekins in an 8-inch pan and add about an inch of hot water. Bake, uncovered, for about 35 minutes or until set.

While the puddings are baking, prepare the Salted Maple-Caramel Sauce. Melt butter in heavy medium saucepan over medium heat. Add sugar. Whisk until sugar melts and mixture is thick and boiling. Slowly whisk in cream. Bring sauce to a boil, whisking often, though not constantly. Boil until sauce thickens enough to coat the back of a spoon. Remove from heat. Whisk in coarse salt and maple extract.

Just prior to serving, drizzle each pudding with the salted maple-caramel sauce.

Enjoy!

Salted Maple-Caramel Sauce Recipe from Bon Appetit as seen on Epicurious

Harvest Apple Bread Pudding Recipe adapted from Chocolate Bread Pudding for Two on Craving Chronicles

16 Responses to Harvest Apple Bread Pudding with a Salted Maple-Caramel Sauce

  1. Fitz says:

    That looks preposterously good. Especially viewed from across my bowl of plain oats…

  2. oh wow, everything about this recipe sounds AMAZING!

  3. Delicious – I adore the photos. Salted caramel sauce is amazing – the addition of maple must make it even better.

    • liadh1 says:

      I love the whole salty sweet combination. This caramel sauce is easy to make, no candy thermometers etc. and I do love that maple flavour. Thanks so much for your kind words about my photos as well!

  4. Karen says:

    This sounds just incredibly good. I can’t wait to make the bread pudding and that gooey sauce to top it with.

  5. Erin says:

    It seems like all the best food is served in ramekins. These look delicious!

  6. Spike says:

    salted maple caramel! Amazing!!

  7. Anna says:

    Your pictures are awesome…You have captured the sauce so well that I thought it will really drip right from my laptop screen ;)
    I’m looking forward to more interesting posts…

    • liadh1 says:

      Thank you so much for your kind words Anna! You have made my day! I have really been struggling with my photography, so you’ve really encouraged me. Thanks once again!

  8. I agree the pictures are awesome! This looks scrumptious and I can’t wait to make it! I would have made this for Thanksgiving but since I just found the recipe today….I will be making it for Christmas – if I can wait that long!! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,079 other followers

